Students honored with Edward R. Murrow journalism award

Bridgeport Connor Voss with underwater cameraWhat began as a two-month partnership among 29 Quinnipiac students and a reporter from WTNH-TV turned into a life-changing experience for one junior journalism major.

Sarah Doiron and her peers from Professor Amy Walker’s class conducted interviews and research on the effects of rising sea waters on Connecticut communities before designing a special website and gathering footage with reporter David Iversen.

“​This was an exciting opportunity for our students to get out of the classroom and off campus, and to feel the pressure of professional deadlines,” Walker said.

They were able to experience first-hand the challenges and successes of reporting and producing a big, complex story.” Their exhaustive work made a splash not just in the state, but across the country – and will be honored with a 2016 Edward R. Murrow Award for hard-news reporting from the Radio Television Digital News Association.

“It is absolutely amazing to be part of a project that was recognized by such a prestigious organization,”Doiron, who was also recently named editor of our student-run newspaper, said. “We worked so hard and it is awesome to see all of our hard work come to fruition.” This year, more than 4,300 entries competed for 654 awards.

“Our winners shed light on important issues and solve problems in their communities,” added RTDNA Executive Director Mike Cavender. “We’re proud to recognize their achievements.”

However, the experience did more than earn Doiron an award, it helped build the foundation of a career.

“After working with David on this project, I started interning for him,” she said. “This whole experience has helped me grow as a journalist by allowing me to network with David, improve my reporting skills and also my design skills. It has been an overall fabulous experience and I wouldn’t trade it for the world.”

In addition to Doiron, Stephen Albano, Janessa Andiorio, Colin Babcock, Elayne Barrentine, Tyler Brosious, Jordan Burnell, Sean Clasby, Justin Cloutier, Nicolas Colon, Matthew Colucci, Thomas Cunningham, Danial Donnelly, Connor Fortier, Michael Hewitt, Amy Hooker, Timothy Marks, Shanna McCarriston, Maximilian Molski, Rebecca Riina, Rebecca Rogoz, Victoria Saha, Ethan Savluk, Eric Sidewater, Benjamin Szabo, Sean Treppedi, Connor Voss, Jacobo Waincier and Jonathan Wische contributed to the report.

Check out their work — and be sure to congratulate them when you see them across the University.

Categories: News, School of Communications

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar